top of page

Meet The Town of Lake Placid
Elected Officials

The Town of Lake Placid, Florida has a Mayor/Council form of government, where the Mayor and four Town Council Members play a crucial role in decision-making. The Council also appoints one Council Member as Vice Mayor. The Mayor, and Council Members are elected by the citizens of the Town of Lake Placid for a four-year term.


As per the town's charter, the Mayor is responsible for the town's administrative and executive functions. The Mayor presides over all Council meetings and has the power to cast the deciding vote in case of a tie. On the other hand, the Vice Mayor is elected by the Council Members annually and assists the Mayor in carrying out the Town's responsibilities.


The Council Members, whom the citizens of the town elect, play a vital role in developing the Town's policies and ensuring that the Town's interests are well-represented. They serve for a term of four years, and their contributions are valuable in shaping the Town's future.

The Town Council meets at 5:30 p.m. on the 2nd Monday of each month* in the Lake Placid Government Center, Council Chambers, 1069 US Highway 27 N, Lake Placid, Florida.

The Town Council also serves as the Lake Placid Community Development Agency (CRA) Board. The CRA Board meets prior to the Regular Town Council Meeting Quarterly at 5:30 p.m.

*Special meetings and/ or workshops may be held on additional dates and will be noticed.

Mayor John M. Holbrook

Mayor John Holbrook has been serving the Town of Lake Placid since 1998.
Mayor Holbrook served on the Town Council and has served three terms as Mayor. 

Current term ends 2026

Council Member Nell Frewin-Hays
Council Member Joy Eberhardt
Council Member Debra Worley
Council Member Colleen Charles

Council Member

Elected 2024

Current term ends 2028

Council Member


Elected April 2024

Current term ends 2028

Council Member

Serving since 2022
Current term ends 2026

Council Member

Appointed March 2024
Current term ends 2026

bottom of page